The Head Teacher is responsible for the day-to-day education and direction of the school, while the Governors are involved in the longer term policy decisions.

The Governors have responsibility for the buildings, appointment of staff, organisation and admissions policy, conduct of the school and the school budget.

The Governing Body is a group of people, elected or nominated, who have the welfare of the school and its children at heart. The Governors accept the North Yorkshire County Council Curriculum Statement. There are no Associate Members on the Governing Body.

Full Governor Meetings are held at least once each term.

The Governor Sub-Committees are:
  • Finance
  • Complaints Review
  • Learning, Teaching and Curriculum 
 Governor Information
* Relevant business interests of governors and details of any other educational establishments they govern
** Relationships between governors and members of the school staff including spouses, partners and relatives 
Name Category Appointed By Term in Office
Committees Currently
Serving on
Positions of Responsibility Business Interests * Relationships **
Mr Andrew Russell Staff Governor N/A N/A Finance & Learning, Teaching & Curriculum Headteacher None None
Mrs M Mounfield Staff Governor Staff
21.11.2018 to 20.11.2022
    None None
Mr Graham Dixon Parent Governor Parents 12.02.2018  to 11.02.2021 Finance
 Vice Chair of Governors
Sports Premium & Playing Fields Association Link
None None
Dr John Spindler Co-opted Governor Governing Body 10.11.2016 to 09.11.2020 Learning, Teaching & Curriculum & Performance Management     None None 
Mr Andrew D'Arcy Co-opted Governor Governing Body 15.12.2017 to 14.12.2021 Finance (Chair) Safeguarding & H&S Link  None  Related to member of staff
Jo-Anne Smith
Co-opted Governor Governing Body 01.10.2016 to 30.09.2020   Parish Council, Parent Forum Link & Safeguarding Link Support  None None
Mrs Gillian Volans Co-opted Governor Governing Body 06.01.2016 to 05.01.2020 Learning, Teaching & Curriculum & Performance Management SEND, Child Protection & WI Link None  None 
Mrs Amanda Harrison Parent Governor Parents 05.07.2017 to 04.07.2021 Learning, Teaching & Curriculum Performance Management Pupil Premium, Parent Forum & Friends Link  None None
Vacancy Parent Governor Parents          
Mr Nigel Taylor Parent Governor Parents 05.10.2018 to 06.10.2022 Performance Management    None None 
Mr Renny Hemingway  Co-opted Governor  Governing Body  13.3.2019 to 12.03.2023 Finance  Chair of Governors   None Related to member of staff 
Vacancy Co-opted Governor Governing Body          
Vacancy Co-opted Governor Governing Body          
Vacancy Local Authority Local Authority          
Previous Governors
Name Category Appointed by Term
Mrs Caroline Duffy Staff Governor Staff 14.05.2018 to 26.06.2018
Mr T John Benson Co-Opted Governing Body 04.01.2011 to 11.07.2018
Mrs Lesley Vale Parent Governor Parents 12.02.2018 to 19.05.2019