EYFS Curriculum

Key Skills

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. 

Within EYFS, there are seven areas of development. You can download an overview of the key skills within each area here. For a more indepth look, click the headings below.






EYFS Framework

Children in Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) will follow the EYFS Framework which was updated in September 2021.


There are 3 prime areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Communication & Language 
  • Physical Development

And 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design